QLD take game 2 of State of Origin 2017

Before a crowd of 82,259, at ANZ Stadium, Blues were leading the half time with 16-12. The second-half belonged to Maroons as they launched the onslaught in the dying stages of the game, with final scores of 16-18.

Johanathan Thurston wrote another chapter into his phenomenal highlights with a conversion from near the sideline in the dying minutes to seal a famous Queensland fightback. Thurston slotted a conversion, after Dane Gagai had locked the scores up at 16-16 with three minutes to play. NSW had appeared all over Queensland for most of the contest, but the Maroons pounced back to snatch a memorable 18-16 win.

Maroons had their biggest team shake-up in 15 years ahead of game two, making seven changes and naming four debutants in the team.

Jarryd Hayne scored for NSW in 14th minute. The one-two punch of tries to winger Brett Morris (24th) and halfback Mitchell Pearce (27th) ensured NSW had all the momentum. For QLD,  Gagai scored twice (53rd, 77th), before Thurston again broke Blues hearts in the dying minutes. Queensland skipper Cameron Smith credited Thurston with the win.

The decider will now be on July the 12 at Suncorp Stadium.

The State of Origin series is the annual best-of-three Australian rugby league football match series between two state representative sides, the New South Wales Blues and the Queensland Maroons.